Leeuwarden, as the capital of the northern Fryslân (Frisian) province in the Netherlands, has won the title Cultural Capital of Europe 2018 (hereafter: CC2018) based on the so-called ‘bid book‘, the presentation plan of our ideas. Main theme is the ‘Iepen mienskip’ or ‘open community’ of Leeuwarden and other parts of Friesland (or Fryslân, as it is called in the Frisian language).

The four joint Rotary clubs of Leeuwarden have decided to support Leeuwarden-Fryslân in the programme ‘Rotary Support CH2018’. This site will be updated with more information as soon as the programme is made public. Until that moment you can contact the Rotary Clubs via the links on the right side of this page.